Successful Portland Litigators in Measure 11 Crimes
Understanding & Fighting Measure 11 Crimes
Measure 11 (ORS 137.700) has been a part of Oregon's criminal justice system since 1994. Measure 11 was one of Oregon’s early mandatory minimum sentencing laws. Measure 11 applies to many of Oregon’s violent felony and sexual assault crimes. The mandatory minimum sentences imposed by Measure 11 are severe. Such sentences range from a low of 70 months imprisonment to 25 years to life. Most importantly if you are convicted of a Measure 11 offense you will be ineligible to receive any reduction in your sentence for good behavior - normally a prisoner can earn time off a sentence for good behavior. Nor will you be allowed to participate in any programs that could otherwise reduce your sentence. Under Measure 11 you do every day of the sentence ordered. If you have been charged with a crime and are seeking legal representation or if you have questions about your case, talk to the Portland criminal defense attorneys at Kohlmetz, Steen & Hanrahan, P.C.
Contact us online or call us today at (503) 303-0771 to schedule a free consultation with one of our knowledgeable Portland criminal defense attorneys.
Simply being charged with a Measure 11 crime is enough to ruin your life. Oregon law makes it extremely difficult for persons accused of Measure 11 offenses to be released before their trial. Bail in such cases is often set at a minimum of $250,000 and often is much higher. Children as young as 15 can be charged as adults under Measure 11.
Measure 11 has been amended a number of times over the years. It now includes a number of “escape clauses,” mainly for certain second degree offenses involving first-time offenders. Whether or not a person is eligible for such an escape clause is not always readily apparent and the statute can be tricky to apply.
High-Quality Representation from Portland Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you have been charged with a Measure 11 crime, it is critically important to get quick intervention by a criminal defense lawyer who has extensive experience defending clients against Measure 11 crimes. There are limited exceptions to the mandatory minimum sentences and the attorneys at Kohlmetz, Steen & Hanrahan, P.C know how to help their clients navigate them.
If you have been accused of or charged with a Measure 11 crime, call us at (503) 303-0771 and we can get started building a strong defensive strategy right away.